Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon D5000

Nikon D5000

Hello! I am new to the forum!
    I was browsing around and I saw that this forum is quiet active and friendly so I decided to join!

I read a few other posts that talked about the Nikon D5000 but I wanted to start my own thread and ask questions myself.

So a little background. I am new to the whole DSLR. I have a old film one but I barely use it because, well it's film! I'm a more digital type of person.

Types of pictures I tend to take are the super close-up ones of bugs or flowers (macro, right?), pet photos (dogs, rabbits, gerbils, etc), sports and sometimes I like to do other random photos like night lights (light painting is sooo fun!) or scenery.

The nice (or totally devastating) thing about having a film slr is already having lenses! Unfortunately I can see them not working with the D5000. Which is a huge bummer because one is a nice 75-300mm lens!

Today I went to Best Buy and played around with the D5000 to see (in person) if I liked it, and I did! Of course, I didn't really have time to spend checking out everything but I got the feel for it.

So after all my babbling I guess I just wanted some opinions about the D5000 and what anyone though about it.

Also, about filters- is there some sort of converter you can use if you have filters that are smaller/larger to make them work? I have a few of them that are 49mm and some other lenses/filters that are 46mm but the D5000 lens is 55mm.

Thanks!
    Last edited by Boz; 21st November 2009 at 03:48 AM. Reason: Fixing filter question

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Nikon D5000

Hi Boz,

Quote Originally Posted by Boz View Post
    Hello! I am new to the forum!
    I was browsing around and I saw that this forum is quiet active and friendly so I decided to join!

I read a few other posts that talked about the Nikon D5000 but I wanted to start my own thread and ask questions myself.