Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon D40 or D3000?

Real Name
    Sahil Jain

Nikon D40 or D3000?

Hi everyone. I am currently using a compact camera, Sony DSC-W80. I am not that good at photography, but still learning and hope to do great with time. I so badly want to upgrade to a DSLR. These are the two models I have narrowed down to (budget constraint). I have attached an Excel file along, which gives a price comparison between prices in India and Canada. And there is a huge difference.

I don't see any apparent difference between these two models. And also, which lens should I go for (from the list, in the file attached). Please help me. And also tell me if its worthwhile. (for me )

Thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Re: Nikon D40 or D3000?

The D3000 is the newer replacement version of the D40. If you can, see if you can physically get your hands to hold the D40, because it's Nikon's smallest dslr body. It may not be comfortable for you to hold.

Another option for those who are on a tight budget, and just learning about photography is buying your gear "second hand". You can actually get a used Nikon D200 (same mega pixels) for the same price as a new D3000. The D200 is a semi-pro body, much better build quality, faster 5 fps, and easier to grip with it's bigger body. Definitely a camera that will take you from beginner to semi-pro level (avid/advanced amateur); a camera that can grow with you.

Mastering exposure, shutter speed, and depth of field is key in photography 101. I always recommend that beginners starts themselves off with a fast prime like a 50 1.8/1.4 or 35 1.4/2. You need the wider and faster aperture for low lighting and speed without flash. Kit lenses have apertures that are too small for low lighting (even if you crank up the ISOs) without the assistance of flash.