Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Help picking a lens for filming close up...

Help picking a lens for filming close up...

I am filming product demonstration videos. I got started with the assistance of a friend and now he is too busy to help me. I need help with a picking lens for up close - up work; i.e. product marketing. I purchased the same camera he used: Canon 7D EOS. Anyhow, here are my Qs:

Can you recommend a lens for up close shots?
    Can you recommend a lens for filming interviews?

Thank you in advance for your help. I am new to this world and I am just getting started with the learning curve.

DeltaFortune
    Last edited by Donald; 18th February 2012 at 08:06 AM. Reason: EDIT to text by Moderator

Real Name
    Russell

Re: Help picking a lens for filming close up...

Hi, For close up photography Canon 100mm (I believe the newer model comes with image stablization) the cheaper option is extension tubes, for moving pics sorry I have no idea.
    Russ

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Help picking a lens for filming close up...

Quote Originally Posted by DeltaFortune View Post
    I am filming product demonstration videos. I got started with the assistance of a friend and now he is too busy to help me. I need help with a picking lens for up close - up work; i.e. product marketing. I purchased the same camera he used: Canon 7D EOS. Anyhow, here are my Qs:

Can you recommend a lens for up close shots?
    Can you recommend a lens for filming interviews?

Thank you in advance for your help. I am new to this world and I am just getting started with the learning curve.

DeltaFortune
    The choice of lenses would, IMO, depend on the product (especially the size of the product) you are shooting and how close you need to shoot.

The first choice that might come to mind when "close up" photography is required, is a macro lens of some type.