Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Cottage 2, Couldn't resist going back,

Real Name
    James

Cottage 2, Couldn't resist going back,

Hi all,
    I could not resist going back and trying again under different conditions (against better judgement i might add), also took it from a different viewpoint than last time as well as shooting in RAW,
    I don't think i have done to bad however the white part of the cottage is not quite right but was at a loss as to how to adjust that as i am still learning photoshop, not mastered the resizing thing yet either
    Please all C+C is welcome as i find this an invaluable part of learning
    hope you like it

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Re: Cottage 2, Couldn't resist going back,

Hi James

For a start, you had much better weather this time ! I think this image is of a higher quality than the last, sharpness and detail are much better IMO. However I think you've over-done the colour saturation. IMO the water and that small section of light green grass on the shore are way over-saturated and the trees could be wound back a bit also. I think the composition is OK but others may have some thoughts on that.

It's got the makings of a very nice image with a bit more work on the pp.

Cheers Dave

Real Name
    Steve

A stripe of land between two bodies of blue is too much info in this case. Cropping the sky gives a more interesting composition. And I detect human presence near the house, which is a bit distracting. I suggest you clone this out.

Real Name
    Ian

It is a gorgeous view although I tend to agree that it is oversaturated. I might try taking out all but a very thin strip of sky and water and frame from the left hand side, cloning out the orange figure etc at the same time and making the house the main subject 'buried' in the great depth of trees?
    Only my thoughts.....

Real Name
    Frank Miller