Thread: what program should i use for post processing

Real Name
    scott

what program should i use for post processing

its probably been asked a thousand times before, but in new to this and the forum game, so here goes
    looking out there i find the quantity of programs available mind bogaling
    so what do i want to do

well i'm not rich so i dont really want to spend hundreds of pounds on somthing i can really use (besides i'm married and i'd have my head to play with) but equally i don't want to spend money on a program that doesen't do what i need it to
    i realise there are free programs out there but again what if any should i be looking at?

i'm a beginner of sorts (in my head i'm a pro) but in reality been taking photos all my life and a few are quite good (freinds and family compliment) but i want to be great or at least better im trying to get out more
    but i also think a little post pro tinkering (wb, saturation, cropping etc) will aid in my eventual climb to fame and fortune...
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 30th September 2011 at 07:19 PM.

Real Name
    Tom

Re: what program should i use for post processing

It would probably help if you posted what camera you have, what computer you use, whether you shoot raw or JPEG, the kind of thing you are hoping to accomplish in PP, etc. if you hope to get a helpful answer.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Scott, here is a link to a thread that will help get you started. At least it may sharpen the questions you would like to ask about the various post processing products that are out there. Advice sought...

Or this previous question Older Photoshop Elements Versions

And there are quite a few others which give similar information.

Unfortunately, there isn't one simple answer.

The best of the free software is good; but there are also a few basic programmes which don't do much other than ask you to click which of the two auto adjustments look best!