Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Older Photoshop Elements Versions

Real Name
    Samantha Jane Eaton

Older Photoshop Elements Versions

I'm just starting out and want to get photoshop but don't have much of a budget. Are any of the older versions of photoshop elements (eg 6, 7 ,8) any good still or would you recommend saving for the newest version?

Real Name
    Steve

Re: Older Photoshop Elements Versions

I use 7, and add some plugins like Topaz and Helicon Filter. It's fine for me except you can't do 16 bit layers, which requires photoshop and that is expensive.

If you want to do video, then you will have to get 8 plus.

Real Name
    David Victor Woods

Samantha,

Why not try The Gimp. Its free, not to difficult to use and has a great user guide with it.

Help in its use is also available from forum members.

Regards

David

Real Name
    Chris

Since I have no need of this program (I have the full Adobe CS5 Suite), I have not tried to download it, or really even look at it as a possibility (RAW conversion program). However, one of my former colleagues found it, downloaded, and is using it quite happily, and like GIMP, it is totally free.

http://rawtherapee.com/blog/list/13

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Samantha Jane,

I have used Elements 6 and Elements 8, both bought retail from reputable sources and registered.

I would be wary of where you buy from, I'm sure there are counterfeit versions on auction sites.

Also, it may not be a problem now with your Olympus SP880 (especially if it doesn't shoot RAW - I haven't checked), but if/when you get a newer camera and shoot RAW, you may have an upgrade issue for Adobe Camera RAW if you buy too early a version of Elements and it isn't compatible with newer camera models - there is a workaround though, conversion with the free DNG converter to DNG format, then use that in Elements, but it's just another step in the process, which some do anyway (e.g. Colin).

Useful links;