Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice sought...

Real Name
    Pritam

Advice sought...

I'm sure this must have come up here a zillion times in the past but I remain unclear about post processing: as in where to start, and so many of the terms and abbreviations used here so often. So, please bear with me...

I'm new to digital photography and seek to learn how to post process as a serious amateur hobbyist photographer.

At the moment, I use iPhoto which came installed with the Macbook Pro to make adjustments.

Now there's information out there that suggests Photoshop CS5 is the mother of all photo editing programs available at this time. Is this one composite program that will do ALL I need to do in post processing? (Yes, it's expensive!) If so, what, then, do programs like Elements, Bridge, Lightroom, DxO Pro, etc. do? Also Aperture 3? I seem to understand that some processing (perhaps just processing of RAW files..?) is done in one of these programs and then they are exported to Photoshop to do something further... Is this correct? If yes, then what does Photoshop do further?

What does ACR (often used here) mean?

Thanks in advance for any light shed on any/all of the above obscurity.

I've been shooting film till very recently and have been reasonably happy with my results. This digital world is a whole new challenge as my pictures appear to be poorer now!

All inputs greatly appreciated.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Re: Advice sought...

Hi Pritam and welcome to CiC!

Yes, it can be a bit overwhelming when you first get into it.

ACR stands for Adobe Camera RAW, the RAW image editor that's bundled with Adobe Photoshop. For most of the Photography Acronyms you'll run into, here is a list with a brief description of each. http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=261117