Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Red Beach Chairs

Real Name
    Liz

Red Beach Chairs

It's embarrassing to post my photos on here with such amazing photographers, but I am going to swallow my pride and do it anyway! I took these 2 pictures in Portugal and like the idea of the red chairs all by themselves, and wrong exposures and no post processing aside...( I didn't really know about that when I was there)...I don't know enough about Elements to do much with it yet, so I just want to start with what I do know. I know they both need to be cropped and would like to know which would be a better bet, and how to crop them. Like I have said, I am an amateur and want to learn, so teach me Obi Juans.
    (Actually I think these were taken on auto because the first is ISO 80, F4 and 1/1600
    #2 is ISO 80, F4 and 1/1250 I wouldn't pick that shutter speed on my own.)

Red Beach Chairs

Red Beach Chairs

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Red Beach Chairs

Quote Originally Posted by lizzy310 View Post
    It's embarrassing to post my photos on here
    Please, please, please don't think or feel that. It's wonderful. Well done. The first ones are always the hardest. So, don't stop now.

I've just addressed one point from what you have written - the question of cropping to assist with the composition. And I've just used your first image for that purpose, because I think it is the more powerful image to work with.

Before I got into that though, both of these need to be rotated to even up the horizon. You can see that in your copies, the horizon slopes down to the left.

So - what options do we have? There are many ways to skin a cat, as they say. And in the end it boils down to your preference. Or maybe more precisely, it boils down to the vision you had in your head of what the final image would look like when you pressed the shutter.