Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: London Street Photos - comments welcome

Real Name
    Glen

London Street Photos - comments welcome

This is my first try at street photography. I've always been nervous about taking photos of strangers, but having a 55-250 lens helps (either no-one realises I'm taking a photo of them, or if they do I am far enough away to not be bothered!)

Comments, criticism and hints always welcome
    Thanks
    Glen

1. Man with Bike

2. Quick Puff

3. Down and Out

4. Girls Night Out

5. Regent Street before the Wedding

6. Coffee House
    Last edited by GlenM; 3rd May 2011 at 03:30 PM.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: London Street Photos - comments welcome

Glen, all your shots are certainly interesting. If you had included a bit more information about the environment where your subject are in inside the frame, that would make these environmental portrait shots stronger. On the side, your exposures are really good here. I would personally prefer a landscape shot with these images compared to a portrait mode of framing. You have a very interesting places around you compared to where I live.

rob marshall

Pretty good, Glen. I like 'The Girls Night Out' best, but I think the pretty girl in the polka-dot dress has spotted you! Street shots often look more in-genre when they are done in BW. You might want to try that in future. Good effort.

Real Name
    Glen

Thanks Willie and Rob,

If you had included a bit more information about the environment where your subject are in inside the frame
    I wasn't sure about whether to crop close or not. In the end I decided that there were too many people nearby and it made the composition look messy. I'll dig out a couple of non-cropped ones to get your opinion. I'm not sure myself - but I'm willing to learn!

You have a very interesting places around you compared to where I live
    That's the advantage of living in a small country, and doing a job where I travel around a lot!