Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Camera White Balance Settings

Real Name
    Simon

Camera White Balance Settings

Hi, I'm new to photography and brought a Fujifilm FinePix S5500 as it was cheap and all I could afford. The white balance settings are Auto, custom, daylight, shade, daylight lamps, warm white lamps, cool white lamps and incandescent light (the icon is a light bulb). In a magazine I brought it gives a table for white balance settings with daylight, tungsten, flourescent, cloudy and shade. Could anyone please advice me as to which settings I should use in particular when it says tungsten and flourescent? I'm thinking tungsten would be daylight lamp and and flourescent would be warm white lamp.

Thanks

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Camera White Balance Settings

Hi SiClews,

Any chance of a first name to call you by?

Use tungsten if your scene is illuminated by tungsten filament light bulbs (the traditional bulbs that have the small wire filament inside them) - they're quite "yellow" in colour. Use Flourescent when shooting under "cool" flourencent lights (including compact flourescent lights) (these give off a slightly blue "cool" colour) (ie those small modern energy-efficient replacement light bulbs).

Does you camera have a custom white balance option?

Real Name
    Simon

Hi Colin,

First name is Simon.

Yes my camera does have a custom white balance option. The camera doesn't have a tungsten option or a fluorescent one. It has 3 options for fluorescent 1 is "Daylight" 2 is "Warm White" and 3 is "Cool White" and a light bulb icon for incandescent light plus a cloud icon for shade and the sun for daylight.

From your reply I'm assuming any photo's I take indoors at home (we have the energy saving light bulbs) with the light on should be option 3 for cool light.

Maybe easier to stick to daylight photo's outside where it's either shade or daylight! Or, spend the time to set the custom white balance everytime!

Thanks
    Simn