Thread: Should I shoot more in HDR or is it just a now and then thing?

Real Name
    Tyler Berge

Should I shoot more in HDR or is it just a now and then thing?

I've recently started HDR and I like it but should I do it more?

Real Name
    Lon Howard

Re: Should I shoot more in HDR or is it just a now and then thing?

This is a very good question to explore. I am still new at this but I have slowly gotten the impression from some pundits that as long as you have your tripod, HDR is almost mandatory. I can only speak for myself, but since I am still at the point where I am asking myself the very same question, I can only conclude that the answer is YES. That is because, regardless of what someone else may think, if you don't go through the process yourself and come to your own conclusion based on your own efforts, you will always have a nagging doubt, one way or the other.

So ... what I will do is try HDR (i.e., AEB) on everything as long as I have my tripod, until I've figured it out on my own. I really don't think there are any shortcuts.

But, if anyone knows of any, I am always willing to listen ...

Real Name
    Robin

Bracketing your shots is not a bad habit to get into, whether you then use a single one or combine them into a HDR. This was common practice in the days of slide film as exposure was very, very critical (what you took was exactly what you got with no chance to correct it in the same way you could when you came to print a negative) and in-camera meters weren't always perfect. In those days remember it cost money to do this but with digital it costs nothing to fill up your card.

There is another argument in that when you shoot RAW you have a fair bit of latitude afterwards to 'correct' exposure so you don't really need to bracket - I still prefer to have an image that is right to start with.