Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Camera purchase advice requested.

Real Name
    Leana

Camera purchase advice requested.

Hi Everyone,

I am an experienced visual artist with serious documentary photography aspirations. I have very little to no technical knowledge, digital or otherwise, but plan to take classes and shoot as much as possible.

Recently, I received a Nikon P100 as a gift and used it for a couple of months. It was fine, given I know so little, but it had a serious problem, so I ended up returning it. Instead of getting the same thing, I want to purchase a camera I can "grow into" as I learn. I don't know enough to understand the majority of reviews and camera comparisons, so I'm asking for your help.

I'm most interested in shooting outdoors, this includes street photography, people and places, but not necessarily portraits, action/movement, landscape/nature and detailed close ups. I'm committed to making a difference for animals with my photography, from taking photographs of homeless pets up for adoption in shelters, to documenting animal rights violations. I also enjoy composing photographs consisting of graphic shapes, negative/positive, repetition/variation etc., much like an abstract painting.

An important consideration for me is camera size and portability. If it's too cumbersome I won't take it with me as often as I'd like. Also, as a single woman traveling and walking around alone, I don't want to be obvious with my equipment. I prefer to spend under $1,000, mostly because I don't know what I'm buying, but I can go higher if necessary. I have been looking at the Nikon P500 and 3100, but I'm open to all ideas.

Thank you!

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Camera purchase advice requested.

Leana

My first reaction on reading your post was 'Bridge Cameras'. There are a few makers, but a number of folk on here have one or other from the Panasonic Lumix range. It sounds as if this is exactly what you are after.

Real Name