Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is my Canon faulty?

Real Name
    Damien Kraut

Is my Canon faulty?

Hi All,

I recently bought myself a 2nd hand Canon EOS 400d. Being a complete noobie to slr cameras I have been doing alot of reading and experimenting with the camera.

The camera I bought actually had a problem which I didnt notice until after a couple of days, basically the buildt in flash unit is bust. Bulb seems gone as I can see loose parts moving around in there. Flash still fires but it's really low/bad.

Another thing Ive noticed is that when im in Shutter priority mode, the photos are ALWAYS dark, like black dark. If i go outside in the sun, it works but the photos are still very dark, and thats using a 1600 ISO.

Is my sensor also damaged? Does anybody know how I can resolve this or will i need to have the camera sent for repairs?

Looking forward to some replies.

Mong

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Is my Canon faulty?

Hi Mong,

Parts moving around inside the popup flash seems like a pretty bad sign -- so I'd say that something's not right there. I guess the other 2 options are (a) don't use it, or (2) Use an external flash.

With regards to the problems you're having in Tv (shutter priority) mode -- it all repends on what you have set; if you have a very fast shutter speed set then the camera may not be able to open the aperture wide enough to get a good exposure. Try taking a shot outside on a bright and sunny day with the shutter set to 1/100th, and the ISO set to 100 - the camera should choose an aperture of around F16, and you should get a good exposure.

Real Name
    Damien Kraut

Hi Colin,

Thanks for that. I checked for prices on new flash mounts for the body and they are like £50.00 this does not include installation costs! So im just going to go the hot shoe route.