Thread: How long? How often?

Real Name
    Jonathan

How long? How often?

Hello,

After some weeks out of this community I'm back here - untill I get too much busy with ordinary things again. As some you know, I'm new to the art of photography, my motivation was not spoiling very important trips photographs again. I mean, not that my pictures of my vacations on August 2010 were horrible, but they were simply too 'simple' for such a special moment. Then I started reading about photography and practising a little. I've noticed that I've learnt many thigns so far, some that sound very obvious after someone tells you.

So, my question is, how long did it take you to feel that "O, now I'm really better than the average in photography, it's not a matter of lucky again. I can make pleasent pictures consistently". And how often do you usually practise it? I'm not sure about the amount of professionals or semi-professional (someone who make some money with photography, but also has a "main" job) we have here.

Thank you for the attention =)

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: How long? How often?

Quote Originally Posted by Pohled View Post
    So, my question is, how long did it take you to feel that "O, now I'm really better than the average in photography, it's not a matter of lucky again. I can make pleasent pictures consistently". And how often do you usually practise it?
    Jonathan

I don't think we really think about being 'better than the average', because as we begin to reach our goals, we see that the 'average' also keeps rising. In other words, we set our targets at higher and higher levels.

However, your question does cause us to reflect on our photography and makes us assess what it we do. The key word that you use, and one that I have used in setting my personal targets, is 'consistency'.