Thread: Lenses again - Canon 60D - which lenses?

Real Name
    Daniela

Lenses again - Canon 60D - which lenses?

Hi,
    I am very new to photography and until now I only owned compact Panasonic Lumix TZ10 camera although I wanted DSLR for ages. Finally I bought my Canon 60D and now I have this dilemma about which lenses to buy. I want one all-around lens, I read quite few reviews about 18-135 IS, 55-250 IS and 18-200 IS, 18-55 IS. Those are in my budget range. We are going for two holidays soon (one is a city holiday, one is a beach holidays) so I want to use my camera mostly for family photos, but also I would love to learn how to take a great photographs of landscapes, places and people (as I live in central London, there are millions of possibilities for that)

Can someone please recommend me which lens should I buy? I am thinking about Canon 55-250 IS which is quite cheap and have very good reviews on Amazon but I am not sure if it is going to be good lens for Canon 60D.
    A friend of mine recently bought Canon 18-200 IS and he is very happy with it.

I read this forum for some time now and can see how helpful you people are; I also can't wait to post my own photo here.

Thank you.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Lenses again - Canon 60D - which lenses?

Daniel

Hello and welcome to CiC. Delighted that you've decided to sign-up.

I'm assuming that you've just bought the 60D body and what you are asking about is one lens that, for the moment, will be your one and only lens (once the bug really bites you'll want more).

I don't have any of the lenses you're looking at.