Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: total beginner: first dslr camera purchase

total beginner: first dslr camera purchase

I am interested in purchasing a dslr this summer and need recommendations. I have a decent eye for photography (just using points and shoot) but would like to learn at the next level. I am wondering what recommendation folks have when it comes to purchasing a dslr around $1k that is decent for a beginner but also has the capability of growing with someone learning photography. So far I have been looking at the nikon d3100, nikon d5000 and Sony alpha a55. I am toying with the idea of going into business taking family photos once I master whichever camera I purchase so I would like something I could use for that until I save enough to buy something more substantial. Any input is appreciated

Real Name
    Cheri

Re: total beginer

The first dslr I purchased was a Nikon D50 and I have recently purchased a Nikon D5000 (I like the ability to take small movie clips with the new Nikon). I still like my older Nikon D50, because I am used to it and it is easy to use. Many of my friends prefer Canon's, but I learned on Nikon's and prefer them. The Nikon D5000 has many options that I have not used, but so far it does take nice pictures. I always recommend that people really research the camera they wish to purchase and compare the camera to other cameras.

There are quite a few members on this site and I am sure they will be able to help you along the way in purchasing your camera. In retrospect I wish I had purchased a Nikon D300 instead of the Nikon D5000. So now I am saving for a Nikon D300 and passing my old camera on to my husband....maybe he and I can go on photo shoots together...there is always hope

I have included a link that will be helpful this particular link will address the ISO on each camera and visually shows the differences. As they say a picture says a thousand words. There are also more links on the site.