Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting Down to Bra$$ Tack$

Real Name
    Elise

Getting Down to Bra$$ Tack$

Okay, people, I've got to get serious about the pricing thing, and I really am completely at a loss as to where to begin on how you figure out the price you put on a photograph. On the one hand, I have people saying "You're an artist! Make them pay!" , while at the same time, I'm thinking, I'm just starting out, yes, I want my things to be valued, but I don't want to price myself out of a market. At this point, I really feel that my goal is to get my name out there, build up my mailing list or fan list or whatever, and if that means putting a little lower price tag on things so that they get out in the world, well . . . so be it.

But what does "higher" or "lower" even mean??

At this point, I have a number of things: Framed prints of various sizes (each uniquely framed), matted prints in smaller and larger sizes, small (5 x 7) images printed on metal with hangers already attached to the back, and cards.

Here's one bit of the dilemma: I got the metal prints because a) they're kind of cool, and b) the woman at the place I'll be this summer said I should have some "small" things to sell. I paid something like $8.00 for them, and I think I could probably sell them for $15-20. But. At the "Summer Art in the Garden" thing, I have to give them 40%, so if I sell them for $15, I make exactly . . . $1.00. If I sold them for $25, I'd make $7, but I don't think anyone will pay $25 for them. They're small.