Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Sony A550 colour over-saturation problem

Real Name
    Ziggy

Sony A550 colour over-saturation problem

Hello, this is my first post here, been reading for a while but never posted.

I've been using a Sony Alpha A200 for 3 years with some pretty good results, example here: http://www.zigsphotography.co.uk/photo/cult/index.html

2 weeks ago I bought an Alpha A550. With not-so-pretty-good results....
    Every shot I take is so over-saturated with colour.
    I have put the settings almost the same as my A200 (which I sold on eBay) but the results are so different. (Worse!)

I have tried changing almost every setting but can't figure out why the over-saturation.
    Sony Alpha A550, 'out-of-box'. Sony f1.8 50mm lens, star filter.

Some examples. 10 days ago I shot my friend's band, using A550 for first time. Here are the results:
    http://s279.photobucket.com/albums/k..._Diablo/SALLB/
    I have had to heavily photoshop them to get them to that "standard", de-saturate them so much.
    Those were slightly better than my horrendous results last night. Photos above I used creative style vivid (by mistake!)

I thought maybe that creative style vivid was the problem, so I changed it to standard. Oh dear....
    Last night I took these, very dark club, not much lighting, as shot, only cropped and reduced from 350 to 72dpi.

First example: Shutter priority, f1.8, ISO1600, 1/125

Shutter priority, f1.8 ISO800, 1/160

Shutter priority, f1.8, ISO400, 1/25

I shot some in creative style 'black & white' mode, they have all turned out fine (compared to above!)

Shutter priority, f1.8, ISO400, 1/50

Shutter priority, f2.0, ISO400, 1/20

I also used manual and program modes but they were even worse, forget about those. The reason I used shutter priority is because that is what I had most success with on the A200 with this lens. The photos above, why is the bass player orange? It wasn't like that in the club!