Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Composing Shots

Real Name
    Graham Stewart

Composing Shots

I am just starting out taking photography seriously as a hobby (though I've been taking photos for years). When it come to talking about photos it would be useful to be able to describe where you are on the photo. The 'rule of thirds' is a good guide (and the tutorial on this site excellent), but do the points of intersection have names? I've not been able to find anything with a quick internet search and so come up with the following for my own use:
    Dividing a photo into thirds and then include the mid points (ie sixths), so, including the edges that is seven lines - doingthe same horizontally and vertically results in 49 points on the photo that can be named (sufficient resolution for me). Starting in the bottom left hand corner I'd label the vertical axis 1, 12, 2, 23, 3, 34, 4 and the horizontal axis a, ab, b, bc, c, cd, d. This means that the four key points (where the thirds intersect) and 2c, 3c, 2d, 3d. I'd be interested to know if there is an accepted system, or anyone has another (better) one.

Graham

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Composing Shots

Quote Originally Posted by Graham View Post
    Dividing a photo into thirds and then include the mid points (ie sixths), so, including the edges that is seven lines
    'fraid you lost me at that point , Graham.

By the way, welcome to CiC. Hope you're going to be a long-term member and enjoy being part of the forum

With the RoTs you have two vertical lines and two horizontal line. There are four cross-over points (top-left; top-right; bottom-left; bottom-right). That's it as far as my photography is concerned - 4 intersections. Not sure where all the other lines and numbers come from. If it's from the tutorial on here - I need to read it again!

Real Name
    Graham Stewart