Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: uv filter

Real Name
    Bill Romer

uv filter

I am new to DSLR photography but am really getting into it. My question is about a Vivitar UV filter...is it necessary? I have read that it will lessen the sharpness and contrast in image. I know it is a good lens protector but I want the best image quality I can get.
    Thanks, Elkybum

Real Name
    Paul

Re: uv filter

Bill,
    I am unfamilar with Vivitars quality, but I put a UV on when I aquire a lens and that is where it stays. With a good quality filter you will likely not see muchif any difference and the protection and ease of cleaning without the worry of scratching a lens is well worth it.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by elkybum View Post
    I am new to DSLR photography but am really getting into it. My question is about a Vivitar UV filter...is it necessary? I have read that it will lessen the sharpness and contrast in image. I know it is a good lens protector but I want the best image quality I can get.
    Thanks, Elkybum
    Is it necessary? - Yes.

Bill - Welcome to CiC.

You have asked a question that's been asked many times before. Get a good quality UV (I use Hoya Pro ..., which I think may be better than Vivitar). The 'I'll lose quality' argument is, by pretty common consent, a myth.

I would really recommend that you go to the bottom left of this post where you will see 'View Tag Cloud'. Click on that and from all the options you see, choose filters. You'll then be able to browse all the threads where this topic has been discussed in the past.

Like many people on here, whenever I've bought a lens, I buy a good UV at the same time. That goes on to the lens and never comes off.

You will see, in the various threads, some comment by Colin about when it can be advantageous to take it off. From memory, this is about long, night-time exposures.
    Last edited by Donald; 30th January 2011 at 08:36 AM.