Thread: Zoom Lens Recommendations

Real Name
    Shawnda

Zoom Lens Recommendations

I am looking into purchasing a new lens for my camera. I find myself going to locations, in which I need that wonderful zoom lens for (but haven't got yet). I have a Nikon D40, just to give ya an idea of what kind of equipment I am working with.

I am looking at Amazon.com: Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 SLD DG Macro Lens with built in motor for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo.

OR

Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG APO Macro Motorized Telephoto Zoom Lens for Nikon SLR Cameras

I have no experience with Sigma lens, and didn't want to make a decision in which I would regret. So, I thought it best to talk to some folks who have this type of lens or from this manufacturer.

Real Name
    John

Re: Zoom Lens Recommendations

Quote Originally Posted by Luv4Photos View Post
    I am looking into purchasing a new lens for my camera. I find myself going to locations, in which I need that wonderful zoom lens for (but haven't got yet). I have a Nikon D40, just to give ya an idea of what kind of equipment I am working with.

I am looking at Amazon.com: Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 SLD DG Macro Lens with built in motor for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo.

OR

Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG APO Macro Motorized Telephoto Zoom Lens for Nikon SLR Cameras

I have no experience with Sigma lens, and didn't want to make a decision in which I would regret. So, I thought it best to talk to some folks who have this type of lens or from this manufacturer.
    Look here for compatibility.
    http://www.d40-lenses.com/zoom-lenses/

Real Name
    Paul

Sigma do really good glass IMHO. I've got the 70-300 and I'm pretty happy with it (I think it's the APO but without rooting around in my camera bag I cant be 100%). Also have Sigmas 10-20 and 17-70 both excellent lenses.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Shawnda

As well as comments that members post in here, you could check out what's been said in the past.