Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: The Memorial (My first HDR attempt)

The Memorial (My first HDR attempt)

Hello all.

First and foremost I am here to learn as I truly am a lowly beginner when it comes to doing any sort of post-processing. Having said that I am also a beginner when it comes to photography.

I can take any kind of critque that people care to hit me with as I find that its one of the best ways to learn.

So, as you cannot learn without showing then I have submitted this first image for your comments.

The Memorial. (Canon 350D, 18-55mm lenses, time 7:30 pm, light fog after damp day, temp 1.5C).
    (3 images (-2,0,2 bracketed, merged as a HDR and subsequent adjustment in CS2).

Let me add that I would have liked to have done a square on shot but because of the light on the buildings behind I had to move slightly to the right so that the column obscured the light. I think that this is also the reason for the apparent slight curvature that can be seen on the right hand side of the column. I also do not like the red fringing effect on the light behind the column, is there anyway I could lessen-remove it?

So there you have it. Have a right go about it as I am here to learn and learning is what I am here for.

DRO.. (another David in real life).
    Last edited by DRO; 12th January 2009 at 02:17 PM.

Re: The Memorial (My first HDR attempt)

Its tiny.

Up the image size? Seriously its hard to critque a photo which is probably the same size as this post.

Quote Originally Posted by iPhillip View Post
    Its tiny.

Up the image size? Seriously its hard to critque a photo which is probably the same size as this post.
    Hello iPhillip, thank you for your comment.

I used a size that was based on the size of other peoples work that is shown in other threads. No doubt the posting of the image with a border is what has caused it to look far smaller. So I have learnt something today which can only be a good thing.