Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: canon powershot SX110: too much for a beginner?

canon powershot SX110: too much for a beginner?

Hi I am new to the digital camera world and understand nothing much about these cameras. I know that I want a camera to take good indoor pics of the kids and family, pets(etc) and outdoor shots in bright light. I like to zoom into trees to get shots of birds,and want to get shots of fast moving subjects. Is the Canon SX110 too much for a beginner? I understand it has an auto mode claiming to make shots easy for the uneducated but was wondering how true this is.

Also my husband says if I buy this camera he thinks I wont be able to zoom in only 6x and have a clear, that would be as clear if you were to use a camera that is made to only go up to 6x zoom. Is that correct? Another issue I don't understand is will I be able to make small prints of 4x6 using an SX110? I have been reading and reviewing for days and feel so overwhelmed... I close my eyes and see cameras!! lol. I would like to stick to the canon brand and not go over the 275(ish)range, and depending on the picture size, I think I would like a 10 zoom. Any suggestions on this being a good starter or too much to handle for a newbie?? I'd really appreciate it! Thanks!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: canon powershot SX110

Welcome Sara,

I would say you could do far worse than this - although I am not familiar with it, a quick look at the spec on dpreview website was enlightening. If you have good experience of a brand, I'd stick with it too.

I wouldn't worry about the quality of pictures per se of a 10x zoom (as this has) against a 6x.
    The only thing I'd say on the lens is that it with an equivalent range of 36-360mm, it will be good for birds in trees, but the Wide Angle (WA) at 36mm may prove a bit restrictive for indoor shots. I have a 10x camera which does 28-300mm, and I'd really miss that bit extra at the WA end.