Real Name
    Steve

Mallards on the pond

Mallards on the pond

Real Name
    Nick

Re: Mallards on the pond

Hi Steve,

I really like this shot, and the peaceful feeling it evokes - the composition is nice and the ducks really seem to "pop" against the water. I'm still learning, so I hope you don't mind me offering my comments...

The only thing I find distracting is the light band running diagonally along the bottom of the image; perhaps this is something along the edge of the pond, or another reflection that crept into the shot? I'm not sure if you could crop enough off the bottom to eliminate that band while still leaving space around the reflection of the duck's head - maybe something could be done in PP to make that section blend a little better with the water?

The front mallard also seems a little softer than the rear, and I think it would probably work better the other way around - the front mallard is in a much more "commanding" position.

Real Name
    Steve

Quote Originally Posted by BongoBob View Post
    Hi Steve,

I really like this shot, and the peaceful feeling it evokes - the composition is nice and the ducks really seem to "pop" against the water. I'm still learning, so I hope you don't mind me offering my comments... Not at all, it makes us ALL better photograpers.

The only thing I find distracting is the light band running diagonally along the bottom of the image; perhaps this is something along the edge of the pond, or another reflection that crept into the shot? I'm not sure if you could crop enough off the bottom to eliminate that band while still leaving space around the reflection of the duck's head - maybe something could be done in PP to make that section blend a little better with the water? The light band is the edge of the ice on the pond. I didn't want to crop off the reflection , so i left it cropped tight.