Thread: My Road to learning Photoshop

Real Name
    Aldo

My Road to learning Photoshop

Dear People,
    I have started my road to get some idea on the subject of Photoshop. Trying to get to know the interface and it's tool. Inspired by this forum, i like to document my journey.
    So as a real newbie i have some pictures here beneath. They are from a weekend in the (dutch) country and i have made some verry touristy shots. Yes clogs, a windmill etc. I leave you with the before and after and like your comments. I have played arround with the Graduate filter in ACR. Tints and color. I have trouble seeing what a picture needs. I can see it is flat, or grey, or not warm enough. But what then to do? So i play arround and not being happy with the end result.

So how to see on what to do, what tool to use (so many ways leed to rome?).

Thanks.
    Bluesbrother/Aldo

Original:
    klompen_ori.jpg

Me trying making it a postcard:
    klompen.jpg

Original: (By the way it is not a fisheye lens, it is the way the road cornerd. Corner, well you know.

molenhoek_ori.jpg

My creativity:
    molenhoek.jpg

Original:

I know i left some romance in here, somewhere:
    paard_molen_1.jpg

If you want to adjust them yourself, and i know you do, then here are some better quality pictures.

I am really wondering what do you see?
    What do you miss in the pictures (lighter, darker warmer colours etc)?
    What steps you take, what tools you use?

And also i found this the other day.
    And i found it here.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Gareth

Re: My Road to learning Photoshop

Fantastic idea for a thread Aldo!!! I'm in exactly the same situation as you
    Everyone's images on here look amazing! but I just can't seem to recreate the same with mine. Even after reading magazines and watching Youtube videos, Photoshop (I've got CS2) still feels light black magic to me

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Aldo,