Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noise Levels

Noise Levels

I get a whole lot of noise at ISO 100 in low light (1 hour after sunrise) with my new canon 7d. Is this usual with this camera? I get a lot less noise under same conditions with my old rebel. Wazzup with that? I am very disappointed.

Real Name
    Jim

Re: Noise Levels

Hi Gerry,
    I don't have the 7D,but I came from a Rebel to a 50D.What I have noticed with the higher megapixels you need to 'nail" the exposure.Not as forgiving as the Rebels.All the reviews I have read say the 7D handles noise very well.
    I'm no expert by a long shot.Maybe post an example with EXIF info intact?There are others with more experience than I and I'm sure you will get some input from them.
    You might also want to take a look at some noise reduction programs.DPP noise reduction is okay,but it doesn't give you much control.Neat image,Noise Ninja and Noiseware are nice programs.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim B. View Post
    Hi Gerry,

You might also want to take a look at some noise reduction programs.DPP noise reduction is okay,but it doesn't give you much control.Neat image,Noise Ninja and Noiseware are nice programs.
    Thx, Jim; I have Dfine as a noise reduction plug in, but I shoot for stock so can't use it for those submissions. I will post a sample of what I'm getting in my images. Thx.

Is this the best sharpness I can expect with this camera? The front towers look soft and in other files with lower light, shot a few minutes earlier, they are softer yet. The cables nearest overhead cables are about 60' from camera and the nearest towers are about 110'. Does low light affect sharpness?

Noise Levels

In the boat pic, the closest boats are about 80' and I focused at about 20'. I shot in raw, edited in ACR & CS3. I had to post crops since the files were too big. Sorry.

Noise Levels