Thread: Proper reading of Histogram

Proper reading of Histogram

I've read lots of articles on reading a histogram. Some say expose to the right because there's more data in the "lights". Some old timers say expose to the left (probably related to film?), and some say keep the peak near the center. My question is, and my understanding of the histogram is that it's recording the values in the scene. I'm sorta confused about a scene, for example, that pretty much has all it's values in zones 3-4. Most would say to expose to the right but wouldn't the correct peak of the histogam be shifted to the left because of the darker tones? In my way of thinking (I'm kinda new at this) and regardless of what most say, it's my understanding that a scene with darker values should have the histogram peaking to the left of center just as a lighter scene, Zone 6-7, should have the histogram peaking right of center! Who do I believe? I tend to favor spot metering and am intrigued with the zone system.

Real Name
    Dave

Re: Proper reading of Histogram

Hi Tommy,

There have been lots of threads n here on your sort of topic, though they can be a bit difficult to track down. If you haven't found it already, here is one that gives a good over view: Exposing to the Right - Revisited

Other wise, be prepared a flood of strongly held opinions.

Dave

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Tommy - the one thing to realize about a histogram is that is shows you what the tonal distribution (by colour channel, if you use that feature) of the scene is. It uses the jpeg that you see on screen as the data source. If there is a bar on the left of the histogram, you know you have lost some shadow detail (total black, but something that you can likely live with) to a bar on the right, that shows total white (blown highlights; usually not a good thing unless these are due to specular highlights or the light source being in the shot).