Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Tamron for my Canon 600D

Real Name
    Johnny

Tamron for my Canon 600D

Hi guys - this question has been asked before, I'm sure, (point to the answer please ), but here it is again:

I'm still rather new to this - bought my Canon ½ year ago - but I have bought a Canon 55-250 mm lens.
    And...I'm allready "tired" of making changes from my 18-55mm to my 55-270mm, so I am thinking of buying the Tamron 18-270mm PZD.

Is that an okay lens? Or should I stick to buying only Canon lenses? (and it IS a question of money, too! ).

Greetings - Johnny Reinhold

Real Name
    Dave

Re: Tamron for my Canon 600D

Hi Jonny,

I think it all depends on what you want or can accept. I have the 600D, a Sigma 17-70 and. Tamron 70-300. I'm happy with both the lenses. I also decided to buy the Tamron 18-270 for the same reason as you, to use as a walkabout lens. I thought it was OK at first, but in practice I find I rarely use it because the IQ isn't up there with the other lenses. So it really depends what price you place on convenience. If you were in the UK I'd ask you to make me an offer, but don't know about Denmark.

Dave

Johnny, I would suggest you go to a site like B&H or Amazon and look up the lens you are interested in... and read the reviews or do a search for the lens +review and read what other people think, sometimes those reviews are much more in depth .... if they have real problems you will see it mentioned over and over again.... I have no problem buying Tamron, Tokina, or Sigma (there is one I have my eye on....) I feel pretty strongly that in buying Canon you are mostly buying a name...If your on a budget as I am I cannot justify buying a name. I know there are others that disagree strongly with that line of thought...