Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Canon telephoto zoom lens

Canon telephoto zoom lens

hello, I am new to SLR photography and I have a very small experience in lenses and this stuff.
    I want to buy a telephoto lens for Canon XTi.
    I thought about the 75-300mm F/4-5.6 III telephoto lens or sigma 70-300 but I'm very worried because they don't have image stabilizer. I don't know how much this image stabilizer would effect the quality. and I can't afford buying a canon IS lens. any recommendations ?

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Canon telephoto zoom lens

Hi Ashooor,

Welcome to the CiC forums, great to have you join us.

As I wrote to someone else this afternoon about the Nikon 70-300mm:
    I would rather go without than buy a non-VR lens, especially as I am not a regular tripod user. I just know that every time I got a good shot ruined by camera shake, I'd regret not waiting/spending the extra.
    If you substitute Canon's "IS" for the "VR", the message I'd give is still the same.

Two questions, for more accurate advice:
    What's the longest focal length you have now?
    What do you want to photograph with the new telephoto?

Best regards,

I agree with Dave here, cheap lenses are cheap for a reason. The best of them can have acceptable image quality but are constructed from all plastic materials and won't stand the knocks and wear like the higher priced alternatives. And by the time you have purchased 2 of them you haven't saved anything.

I would advise against the Canon 75-300 which is one of their less successful older lenses. The replacement 70-300 IS however is an excellent 'lower price' lens which I would recommend. Although at around £400 you might not regard it as a budget price lens.

My honest advice, however, would be to keep putting all your spare change into a jar until you can afford something like this.