Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Sleep mode canon speed lights

Real Name
    Kay

Sleep mode canon speed lights

A random question, do any other users go in and turn off the 'sleep' function on canon 430 or 580 ex II
    I have a basketball team photo day & will be doing some Individual shots between each team, with a second camera setup & was planning on leaving the main team setup with speedlights & pocket wizards on ready for next team.
    Then I read about not letting them go into sleep mode makes it easier /quicker to get going again.
    I am of course reading the manuals, but wanted opinions/experience if anyone as any to share.
    Thankyou

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Sleep mode canon speed lights

I'm not an expert here, but in terms of the 'quicker to get going again', everything is relative. So far as I know, no settings get changed as as result of everything going to sleep. It all just needs that extra couple of seconds to wake up.

So, if it's that couple of seconds that counts as the 'slower' being implied, I think that unless you need instant access you could live with that. Haven't a clue what is menat by 'easier'. I can't see anything that's difficult.

Can you recall if what you read said what was easier/quicker (or why is was less easy and less quick)? Or is this a case of a sloppy author writing something without thinking it through?

Real Name
    Kay

Thanks Donald
    It was on a pocket wizard webinar - he said oh I thought I turned off all my speedlights 'sleep function' but missed this one, then went over to the light & pushed something.... Which made me think crickey the lights won't fire on a PW if the flash gets into sleep mode, which doesn't tally with canon manuals as basically it says half press shutter to wake up or press pilot (which if light up high, might be a nuisance)
    Hence my confusion...