Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Post Processing this photo..

Real Name
    Sam

Post Processing this photo..

Hi All,

A local Haulage company has approached me to do some photos for their company magazine. Now they know I'm no professional photographer and I've only had my 600D since October but I want to impress them. I've used photoshop for many years but not 100% clued up with it, I know where to select levels, exposure, shadows highlights etc and the likes but I really want to impress them with the images.

These one's are not shot in RAW because I take multiple images of one truck, and with hundreds passing every hour the card gets filled up very quickly. I know the photo is backlit, but shooting in the other direction wasn't an option due to obstacles like signs etc that get in the way of the photo.

Could anyone take the time to do what YOU would do with this photo, post processing wise so I can get an idea of where the image needs to be?

http://mattgarner.net/uploads/IMG_9309.jpg

Regards,
    Sam

Real Name
    Lex

Re: Post Processing this photo..

First, you've been presented with a tricky task - making semi trucks look interesting.

On the PP front, I assume it's pretty clear that the highlights on the trailer's tarp are thoroughly blown. That's where my eye goes first, and that's a problem. Speaking for myself, I'd try the following:

• Try to lessen the tarp highlights with curve adjustment or the highlight recovery tool. That's not a cure, but it'll help.
    • Selectively dodge the truck and/or burn the background to draw the viewer's attention to it.
    • Increase the black clipping point or contrast to draw attention to the truck's details.
    • Selectively sharpen and add saturation or vibrance to the truck.