Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: newbie here

Real Name
    Kevin

newbie here

Hi,

I've just bought myself a canon 600d and I'm looking to take some shots of wildlife. I've seen a good deal on a canon 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 lll lens but I have no idea how close to the action that will get me. If I bought this lens would I be able to zoom in on a smallish bird 50m away? I'm pretty sure that the f number is the shutter speed and this maybe a bit slow so would I need a tripod at full zoom? As you can tell I'm as green as can be so any help would be massively appreciated.

Real Name
    John

Re: newbie here

Have you browsed the tutorials? You should find the answer there.

Real Name
    Mark

Hi, have a look here

http://tamron-usa.com/lenses/learnin...comparison.php

Remember to select the correct sensor size which i think is a 1.6 crop but im not a canon user. hope that helps and im you could add you name and location to your profile that would help to point you in the right places locally and give us an idea who we are talking to!!

Real Name
    Kevin

I have mate but to be honest although I found a calculator (I've got to be honest and look stupid) I'm not really sure what it's asking for???

Real Name
    Kevin

That's what I was after thanks mate. At 300mm that's a really good zoom. I will do the other bits in a second. I'm in Devon so just around the corner from you. I go trekking on Dartmoor quiet often so I'm hoping to get full use of my camera up there. Thanks again!

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Cameras and long telephoto lenses do not guarantee that you will get great wildlife shots. On your Canon, you are shooting with a full-frame equivalent of a 480mm lens, so this is more than adequate from a focal length standpoint. Having a long lens does not mean you can stand way back and shoot away. You still have to get close enough to take the shot.