Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gaussian Blur in Photoshop Elements 9

Real Name
    Christina

Gaussian Blur in Photoshop Elements 9

I'm still learning how to edit and yesterday for the first time I tried to blur away a less than attractive background. I liked the blur effect but the photo sure looks bad. I think it must have something to do with my selection technique combined with the Gaussian blur? ie; the outline of the cow is ragged, funny looking and obvious and not apparent until after I applied the blur, and even more obvious with more blur. I did refine the selection and feathered the edges.

Mild Blur

Gaussian  Blur in Photoshop Elements 9

Big Blur

Thank you in advance.

Real Name
    John

Re: Gaussian Blur in Photoshop Elements 9

The mild blur isn't bad, I had to zoom in to see the defect. Which selection tool did you use, magnetic lasso?

Real Name
    Christina

I used the quick selection too, and I'm still using my mouse but hope to buy one of those wands in April. Is it my selection skills or?

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by Christina S View Post
    I used the quick selection too, and I'm still using my mouse but hope to buy one of those wands in April. Is it my selection skills or?
    It depends on how closely you were able to get the tool to wrap around the object. I use the magnetic lasso which gets you pretty close and I still get the type of artifact you are experiencing. I think there is a tool feathering tool that helps clean up the edges.
    Last edited by Shadowman; 28th March 2013 at 06:12 PM. Reason: edit

Real Name
    Graham Heron

Hi Christina,
    May I suggest using layers. Place blurred background version over the original. Use a layer mask and apply a gradient so that the ground lower (and closer to the beastie) is revealed, leaving the stronger blur higher up (and supposedly further away).
    That would help the perspective.