Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Portrait with OCF

First Portrait with OCF

I have a little more time on my hands of lately and have had some of the grandchildren over, a perfect time to grab a few shots, and brush up on some of things I think that I have learned.
    This is my first time shooting with OCF. I used one each in two shoot through umbrellas and one with gel on the background. I think that my umbrellas need to be positioned a little different as they both can be seen in the eyes of my grandson, or is that normal? I did notice the level of light on the back ground was not even and will use a higher stool so that I can position my flash behind the person.
    I have read through the lessons that Colin has been so gracious to teach here but not sure how much has stuck between my ears. So with that I would appreciate any and all CnC that would help me to improve and prepare me for my next two shootings for two of my friends children one of which is a week from this Monday and the other will be on Good Friday for several children.
    I have picked up some new toys in the last month and really loving them. I know it will not sit well with some but I did buy two Yongnuo 565EX,s and four 622c's along with two umbrellas, a softbox 24"x24" and 3 stands all of which fit into my limited budget. I have not had any problems with the above listed equipment and really love the way they perform.
    Please feel free to make and post any edits to this image that will help explain what your are saying. Thanks in advance.

Lens: 17-55mm
    ISO 100
    f/6.3
    51mm
    1/250

First Portrait with OCF
    Last edited by Carl in Louisiana; 18th March 2013 at 03:51 AM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: First Portrait with OCF

Whilst it looks well lit to me, I am NOT the person to advice on portraiture. There are many on here much more capable of providing a better critique than me.