Thread: Monitor calibration with spyder2pro

Monitor calibration with spyder2pro

Hi,

I am just starting out at trying to do professional close-up plant photography. I have bought a new laptop (HP ENVY dv6-7300ea Notebook PC) and I have been trying to calibrate with with a spyder2pro. I noticed that all the laptops screens in the shop had eye-searingly bright whites, and so I bought the one that was least bad in this respect. However I am still finding that it is far too bright and hurts my eyes so much that I can't use it.

I ran spyder2pro and changed the target to 2-2-5000, which helped a lot. However, I wondered if I should also change the luminance. I understand that the value should be somewhere between 100 and 150.

Do you think I'm on the right track? I'm a bit concerned that I may just have bought a bad laptop and should be returning it. My previous machine is a Satellite pro U400-142 which has very nice muted whites, and I have no problem at all, with it. I have actually never had a problem with bright whites before, so I think it must be a new fashion for laptops to have very bright whites. (The apples were not like that but were out of my price range)

Thanks!

J

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Monitor calibration with spyder2pro

I`ve had a quick look at the laptop`s specs and unfortunately, there is no information given about the screen. Given its relatively low price, is suspect you are dealing with a low gamut TN type display that is not particularly well suited for accurate colour reproduction. Ideally you would be looking for a unit with an IPS screen, but these are only offered on some very high end models.