Thread: Which lens good for what?

Real Name
    Claudio

Which lens good for what?

Hi all...i'm very new to photography and im trying to read as much as i can to get all the knowledge i can. What im struggling to figure out is which lens to use when. I have a Nikon D5100 and i got 3 kit lenses with it..i know they not the best but a good starting point for me. I have the a 18-55 vr lens..55-200 and then a 35mm prime lens. Now, I'm guessing i could use the 18-55 for sort of wide angle lens at the 18mm end? and maybe the rest as a walk around lens? 55-200 maybe for nature and sort of portraits at its 200mm end? I read it could give good results for portraits? and the 35 mm lens? That one just stumps me... iused it close up and quick with my dogs, i quite liked the pics and the lens seemed quite fast to..its also good in low light..but can i use it for portraits? I know its alot of questions, but any help is appreciated.

thank you!!

Real Name
    Phil Page

Re: Which lens good for what?

The conundrum of lots of lenses and not knowing what to use for what.

The answer probably is to stick to one lens for a day or two and see what you can shoot with it. Then switch to the next. And so on.

The 18-55mm is a good focal range for a general walkabout lens. You'll be able to get wide enough for cityscapes and group shots indoors, but have enough length for portraits etc.