Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Pillowy Soft

Real Name
    Shane

Pillowy Soft

I have been trying to capture the essence of floral subjects for some time and out on a walk this AM I came across this lovely white and purple specimen. The result was this image:

Pillowy Soft

My first inclination was to show the whole flower but it was a very breezy and the darn thing wouldn't stay still. So, I upped by ISO to get a faster shutter speed (I ended up with ISO 200, 1/200 of a second at f5.6) and focused on the stamen.

I am still learning so the softness of this image was a mistake yet a somewhat intentional mistake (I would be lying to say otherwise). I had originally planned on capturing sharpness throughout but equipment (my lens doesn't get much faster) or lack of knowledge prevented me from doing that (should I have upped the ISO more to get that result?). However, I will say that I do like this image and feel like it is stronger that a tack sharp one would be.

What are your thoughts? Do you think the overall image is strong? What about the crop? Any C&C would be appreciated.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Pillowy Soft

I would like the soft look more if it was more of an abstract presentation. To make it more abstract, you could crop to eliminate the green leaves.

I don't know the ISO capabilities of your camera with regard to noise. Even so, I always consider noise to be the least objectionable of all other criteria. In other words, it doesn't matter if I have prevented noise from being introduced into the image if any of the other criteria, such as sharpness, are not met. So, try taking shots like this at a higher ISO and deal with the noise if indeed that becomes an issue.