Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DSLR Issue

Real Name
    Larry McMahon

DSLR Issue

Hello,
    I'm new here and have been looking this site over. I like it. I have a question but not sure just exactly how to ask it. So, I'll just explain the issue I'm having and the question will reveal itself... I hope. I'm pretty new to the DSLR camera. I have no training. So, I must rely on self taught lessons, Internet, etc... Here's my issue. When I am out taking photos " mostly landscapes" I have a problem getting my lighting or exposure just right. I understand that Aperture is key as well as ISO, and shutter speed. When I set my Aperture to say around 4 "which on this particular lens" is as far as I can go. My ISO is at 100 or sometimes 200. Why is it that I can not set my camera to a very fast shutter speed. The faster I try to set it, I can see my exposure getting darker and darker as I move my shutter speed faster. This happens automatically. Is it supposed to since I am on "M"? I realize I can raise my ISO but doesn't that create noise? Maybe it has to do with my lens? I have the 58 mm lens that came with my camera. "Canon T3i 600D". I'll start with this and I'm sure ill have more questions. Thanks

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: DSLR Issue

While exposure is a fairly complex subject, for any particular ISO (sensitivity) setting, there is a combination of aperture and shutter speed that gives you a correct exposure for the specific scene you are shooting. If you are shooting at a relatively low ISO of 100 or 200 and have the aperture wide open, there will only be one particlar shutter speed that your camera will use for the specific lighting conditions. In indoor situations photographers have another variable they can play with, the amount of light, which is where flash comes in. This will not generally work in landscape shots.