Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Would you consider selling some old gear?

Real Name
    Ife.

Would you consider selling some old gear?

Happy new year to you all. Both jokingly and subtly mentioning, i have indicated my interest in fairly used gear in case some people here are weeding them out of the bag.

Here are my reasons:
    1.Where i live, ebay is not exactly functional neither is any method of acquiring such.
    2. Used items like photography equipment for example are scarce and when you get them, the prices are so close to new ones which defeats the point.
    3. Dealers are just unreliable.
    4. Obviously, i can't afford new equipment. (I am a student).

I have read posts of seasoned pros here and i think it is safe to assume that they have acquired some kit along the years and due to upgrades, they may no longer require them. Those old stuff could be really life-saving for me.

At the moment, i need a decent lens that covers the 18-50 or 18-55 range. Even the broken kitlens i have does not even produce sharp images...so i guess a bad AF is not only the problem with the lens.
    The lens above is my priority as my needs are not fancy or astronomical. I already have a 50mm f/1.8 and a Sigma 70-300 which are both in excellent condition.

While a wide angle lens seems the topmost priority it wont be a bad idea to hear of
    a. A camera body superior to my current xxxxD(Canon 1000D).
    b. A good bag.
    c. Filters and so on...
    at "get rid of them" prices.
    How it could work: The internet is not exactly a place where you can fully claim you trust everyone, that i'm aware of but i'm willing to send money forth if i get very considerable deals and the seller then sends the package by courier to me. Sounds crazy? I think desperate describes it better.

I shoot an entry level DSLR. Canon 1000D to be precise.

What are your thoughts?