Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: People opening up their hearts

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

People opening up their hearts

I was a volunteer photographer this past Saturday at the Washington, DC area Heart Walk of the American Heart Association. The Heart Walk is their largest fundraising event and this particular walk was held at Nationals Park, which is the stadium of the local major league baseball team.

My shot list included product photography, graphics on tee shirts, group photos, signage, posed and candid close-ups of people, images showing thousands of people congregated at the start of the walk, etc., etc. My personal favorites, which I'm happy to share with you, show people participating in the event.

C&C encouraged, as always.

Photo #1: This woman was thrilled to be photographed carrying the sign provided by her employer.

Photo #2: The Jenny Craig company is a sponsor of Heart Walks throughout the U.S. After taking a photo of a Jenny Craig employee at this sign, I felt a tug on my pants. This little girl then asked if I would take a picture of her. She couldn't see the sign because it was behind her and had to trust me when I positioned her hands. She provided the smile and upward look without any assistance from me.

Photo #3: This young person was proud to be a member of a fundraising team and was carrying a sign in each hand to demonstrate his enthusiasm. I happened to be at the right place at the right time. Everything came together spontaneously in less than 5 seconds.