Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: DNG or TIFF for PSE10 editing?

DNG or TIFF for PSE10 editing?

I just purchased a new camera and adobe tells me that I need to upgrade to PSE11 for ACR compatibility. I will not do that, I just bought 10 six months ago!

So my choices for raw editing are TIFFS, which is what the software that came with my camera converts raw into, or dng. I'm pretty new to editing so I'm not sure which is preferable for editing in PSE10. Any advice would be appreciated. Camera is panasonic G5, 12 bit.

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Re: DNG or TIFF for PSE10 editing?

Quote Originally Posted by Anastasia View Post
    I just purchased a new camera and adobe tells me that I need to upgrade to PSE11 for ACR compatibility. I will not do that, I just bought 10 six months ago!

So my choices for raw editing are TIFFS, which is what the software that came with my camera converts raw into, or dng. I'm pretty new to editing so I'm not sure which is preferable for editing in PSE10. Any advice would be appreciated. Camera is panasonic G5, 12 bit.
    My suggestion would be to download the free DNG converter from Adobe, convert your Panasonic RAW files to DNG and then process in ACR/PSE.

If you use TIFF's generated from the Panasonic software, you will be doing your initial RAW processing there rather than in ACR. I don't know how good the Panasonic software is but it probably isn't as versatile as ACR/PSE.

Dave

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

DNG without hesitation.

If you use TIFF's generated from the Panasonic software, you will be doing your initial RAW processing there rather than in ACR. I don't know how good the Panasonic software is but it probably isn't as versatile as ACR/PSE.
    Thanks so much for your response.
    I thought if I used TIFFs I would import them into ACR and do raw processing there. Is there a disadvantage to doing this? or you really just like the dngs better?

Real Name