Thread: Can Wiser Heads Answer My Questions about RAW?

Real Name
    Wayne

Can Wiser Heads Answer My Questions about RAW?

I am just beginning to explore the RAW mode on my camera. Having read the Cambridge article on the subject (plus a few others), several nagging uncertainties remain.

Once I have edited the RAW image in its specific editor, I am invited to "open image." Doing so brings up the image in my familiar PSE editor.

Question One: Theoretically, I could now readjust the settings I made in the RAW editor. If I did this, would I effectively be undoing the RAW edit, thus losing the RAW advantage?

Question Two: PSE allows me to do a number of things I cannot perform in the RAW edit, such as adding filters, correcting perspective, etc. I presume I am still free to apply these tools, right?

Question Three: There is an overlap between the two editors. For instance. I could sharpen the image in the Raw editor, or use Unsharp Mask in PSE. Which approach would be preferable?

I appreciate your assistance.

Wayne

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Re: Can Wiser Heads Answer My Questions about RAW?

Quote Originally Posted by waha View Post
    I am just beginning to explore the RAW mode on my camera. Having read the Cambridge article on the subject (plus a few others), several nagging uncertainties remain.

Once I have edited the RAW image in its specific editor, I am invited to "open image." Doing so brings up the image in my familiar PSE editor.

Question One: Theoretically, I could now readjust the settings I made in the RAW editor. If I did this, would I effectively be undoing the RAW edit, thus losing the RAW advantage?

Question Two: PSE allows me to do a number of things I cannot perform in the RAW edit, such as adding filters, correcting perspective, etc. I presume I am still free to apply these tools, right?