Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Selfoss (waterfall)

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Selfoss (waterfall)

These two flows of Selfoss in northern Iceland are a very small part of the waterfall, which is huge. C&C encouraged, as always!

By the way, this is the last image that I took before my camera died. Fortunately, Manfred suggested a two-day fix that worked perfectly.

Selfoss (waterfall)

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Selfoss (waterfall)

Very nice image. I'd like to see it in color...

I shoot with a pair of cameras. Besides making it easy to switch focal lengths by just shifting cameras; the two camera system is an insurance policy against missing out on images of an important trip...

Thanks, Richard, but this scene doesn't work for me in color. That might be because it's one of the few images that I "saw" in color before I released the shutter. I'm relatively new at making B&W images, so I'm not yet adept at seeing in B&W.

Ever since a camera repairman in Durango, Colorado opened his shop on a Sunday in 1991 to provide me a replacement camera for use while he repaired my camera the next day, I have always owned two cameras. That includes this trip. Now that my wife enjoys taking pictures, we decided that we now need to get a third camera. That ensures that both of us will have a camera to use even when one stops working. If you tell me that two cameras are going to stop working at the same time, we'll have to carry four cameras with us. Sheesh!

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

This works well because, in my view, it does a very good job to portraying the power and energy of the fall. I think we see a lot of waterfall images that are 'nice' and, indeed, in some cases that is appropriate. This is not 'nice'. It is daunting, a bit scary. And that's why it works for me.

Thanks for that feedback, Donald. The image conveys to you exactly what I had hoped.

Real Name
    John