Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon D7K "focus issues....." Me too?

Real Name
    Graham Serretta

Nikon D7K "focus issues....." Me too?

I returned my Nikon D7K to Nikon UK yesterday because of "autofocus issues". No matter what I did, I could not get the thing to focus on the same point consistently. Sometimes it back-focussed, sometimes it front-focussed and sometimes it nailed the correct focus. Results varied with focus distance, camera settings and lens used.

Anyone have similar problems with a D7K?

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Nikon D7K "focus issues....." Me too?

I have been using the D7000 since about two months after it was officially released and I have not experienced these issues. It could be that you simply received a bad copy. Unfortunately, that happens even when the manufacturing failure rate is less than 0.1%.

Real Name
    Gil

Quote Originally Posted by GrahamS View Post
    I returned my Nikon D7K to Nikon UK yesterday because of "autofocus issues". No matter what I did, I could not get the thing to focus on the same point consistently. Sometimes it back-focussed, sometimes it front-focussed and sometimes it nailed the correct focus. Results varied with focus distance, camera settings and lens used.

Most of the time I find the autofocus works ok...most of the time. There are times I want to compose with a focus off-center. I cannot rely on the D7000 to choose the focus point(s) in that situation.

In any case, if you're not getting the focus point you want, use Single Point Auto Focus. While looking through the Viewfinder, on the lower left camera front, press and hold the AutoFocus Button. In the lower left viewfinder portion, you will see AFA, AFC or AFS. (Most of the time, I choose AFA). Turn the Rear Comman dial and you'll sequence through these modes. Stop when you see AFS.