Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why do digital cameras need iso?

Why do digital cameras need iso?

Hello
    I'm still a beginner in all this photography business, and am getting my head round the three components of exposure - shutter speed, aperture and iso. The first two are straight-forward, but I can't work out why a digital sensor needs iso. As it is a digital device, why can't the sensitivity always remain at the highest level for the particular sensor? Why should you need to adjust a digital sensor's sensitivity?
    Anyone know a simple answer to this?
    Thanks

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Why do digital cameras need iso?

Hello Clive and welcome to CiC.

This is very much a learning resource, so questions like yours are always welcome.

The best place to start understanding this is this CiC tutorial. Scroll down to the ISO Speed section. That should start you with the basics. The you can look at the list of other tutorials and start to expand your knowledge and understanding.

What you'll find, I think, is that if we just had shutter and aperture to control our exposures, we'd be very limited. Having ISO speed options as well significantly increases the number of options we have and the degree of control we can exercise.

By the way, you don't say where you are. If you wish, you can go to Edit Profile and enter your location so that it shows up alongside all your posts, just as in my details alongside this message. Then we all know where everyone is in the world.

Real Name
    Paul

The lower the ISO the better the quality basically. The higher the ISO the more noise (due to signal amplification and a couple of other factors) and hence less quality. I tend to shoot always at the lowest ISO possible but I shoot primarily landscapes and often have longish exposures tripod mounted. Try a couple of shots one with the lowest and one with the highest ISO and look carefully at the results.

Real Name
    Tom