Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: B&W, Doncaster River.

Real Name
    Louise

B&W, Doncaster River.

I tried a B&W for this, with a Orton effect of my composition. Is it any good? I have not cropped, this is how I framed the photo. C&C appreciated.
    B&W, Doncaster River.

Real Name
    Ron Lane

Re: B&W, Doncaster River.

wlou,

I'm not that experienced with B&W but it looks good to me. I like the water motion with the long exposure. About the only thing I can say and I don't know how to fix it, is that the lights in the trees do draw my attention away from the river. (This may be your intention, I don't know.)

What exposure did you use?

Real Name
    Louise

Thank you Ron. It is the sun light. It was a mix of sun and shadow, difficult to expose for. I was thinking of toning it down. Thanks for viewing.

Real Name
    Allan Short

Louise: nice shot, my problem is it is flat, it needs more detail in the dark areas, cna you increase the exposure than using a mask darken down the overly brighten areas. I could suggest something else however I do not know what software you use. It is a very difficult location with those lighting conditions.

Cheers:

Allan

Real Name
    Louise

Thanks Allan. I use Lightroom3, and I would like very much to know how to "unflatten" an image.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by wlou View Post
    Thanks Allan. I use Lightroom3, and I would like very much to know how to "unflatten" an image.
    Very often when we talk about a flat image, we also talk about the image needing more 'pop'.