Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Boston Street Performer

Real Name
    Matt

Boston Street Performer

This was taken of a street performer in Boston. This is my very first attempt at selective color of a B&W version. C&C always appreciated. Thanks, Matt.

Boston Street Performer

Boston Street Performer

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Boston Street Performer

Nice job of selectively selecting part of the image.

I would prefer that the entire performer, his ladder and the miniature table setting were in color. That would emphasize that the surrounding audience is viewing the performance. As it is now, your image seems to be telling one story and your post-processing seems to be telling a different story that is unclear to me.

Real Name
    Matt

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Buckley View Post
    I would prefer that the entire performer, his ladder and the miniature table setting were in color. That would emphasize that the surrounding audience is viewing the performance. As it is now, your image seems to be telling one story and your post-processing seems to be telling a different story that is unclear to me.
    Thanks Mike, Here is a revised version. What do you think?

Boston Street Performer

It really depends on the story that you want to tell, Matt. This version effectively shows that the performer is high above the ground. Perhaps allowing the ladder and/or the miniature table setting would tell different stories. Regardless, this version makes sense to me, whereas your first version didn't.