Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: do i upgrade to full frame ?

do i upgrade to full frame ?

Evening,

IM thinking of upgrading from my d80 to to a full frame camera, but im not sure if its the right choice or not as im just a novice witht he camera, am i buying something that is not needed??

any advice ont his matter would be great!

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Re: do i upgrade to full frame ?

Hi Damien,

If you ask the opinion of others if you must upgrade to full frame, then you are not ready yet.
    For an amature there is no benefit in going to full frame. Upgrade to a D7000 if you want to spend the money.
    Otherwise stick to your D80 and get to be an expert with it. The D80 was a big hit in its time and will still do a very decent job in the hands of a photographer who is willing to use it.

Regards,
    Andre

Real Name
    Gary

Is there any chance you can let us know what lenses you are using and where you are having some issues with your shots?

It could be that you just need a faster lens or you might have some limitations with your D80.

Regards,

Gary

Real Name
    Richard

If you are shooting with top-line lenses and if you are getting very good to excellent results from you crop camera, then perhaps you would improve your imagery by switching to full frame.

However, if you are not getting very good to excellent results from your crop camera and are not using top line lenses, you might be better served to improve your glass.

And, if you ARE using top line lenses with your crop camera and you are not producing very-good to excellent image quality, I would suggest improving your technique. Because in this case, I would suspect that it is the indian not the arrow at fault.

Switching from crop to full frame is not an automatic panacea that will improve your imagery from the mundane to the very good to excellent.

Real Name
    Allan Short