Thread: Trouble getting perfect focus

Trouble getting perfect focus

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to photography and am currently taking some classes which require a pic having a shallow depth of field. I took about 25 pics of this flower and had trouble in all of them getting perfect focus of my subject. This was the closest I came to my goal but, as you can see, most of the anthers are not clear as well as some of the petal on the left. Any suggestions on how to correct this would be welcome. Thanks!

Greg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by pixeltrek; 30th May 2012 at 09:45 PM.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Trouble getting perfect focus

Hi Greg,

Welcome to the CiC forums from me.

I don't see a picture - you may find this thread useful to have another go -
    HELP THREAD: How can I post images here?

Hope you're successful soon,

Real Name
    Ivan S.

I can see the picture so try this: If you have a manual control of your Focus take a 5-point cross type (if you have a lot of F-points) or take a single F point and place it on to the flower. Angle your camera just a bit so it sees the leaf behind, press shutter half way down (hold it that way), return to the angle in which you shot this picture and press shutter all the way down.

If you don't have manual focus you're gonna have a little bit of hard time doing it because you have to listen to the camera. Do it the same way (1st angle, shutter half way, 2nd angle, shoot) without the tripod. only use it if your hands are really shaky. I hope you get it. Good Luck.

Real Name
    randy

Ironically, you have indeed demonstrated shallow depth of focus quite well, you could reshoot this by positioning your camera on plane parallel to the plane of your subject, the rose. Maybe close aperture a little more to increase depth of focus and of course use a tripod.

Thank you both for the suggestions. I do have manual focus & will try the 5 points. I will also do the parallel plane. Much appreciated.