Thread: Slave flash questions

Real Name
    William

Slave flash questions

I am new to photography but would like to do some indoor flash shots, specifically water drops and expand form there. I have 3 older flashes that I cannot mount to my camera because of voltage issues, and I want to use them for my slave flashes.

Equipment wise I have a canon T2i, and 3 Vivitar flashes, an auto 201, an auto 252, and a 283, all working.

I know there are different types of systems for triggering the slaves. I am not looking for a pocketwizard option, I am looking for more budget approach. The wife is already unhappy about some of my recent purchases lol.

What would be the bottom to mid grade options available here? Thanks in advance for any help you can give a budding photographer.

Real Name
    Russell

Re: Slave flash questions

Hi, This may work but I say MAY!!
    Item number: 300706084194 on Ebay
    Believe you can also find the receivers without the transmitter
    Russ

Stockholm, Sweden (and sometimes Santiago de Cuba)
    Real Name
    Urban Domeij

You could use any slave trigger with your old flashes, but there are two caveats.

One: You must not use TTL flash, but manual. TTL fires a "pre-flash" for measuring light through the lens. This small pre-flash will trigger your slaves before the camera takes the picture, and they will be empty when the shutter opens.